An independent kingdom since 1143, Portugal is one of the oldest nations in Europe.

In 1415, the Portuguese set sail on epic voyages that would make them the first to discover the ocean routes to India, Brazil, China and Japan, and at the same time establish settlements on the east and west coasts of Africa.

A member-country of the European Union since 1986, Portugal currently enjoys a steady economic growth and is world famous for its wine, its history and its hospitality.

The Portugal maps and information pages are currently being revised, and they will be posted soon.

Quick Facts and Figures

  • Official Name Republic of Portugal
  • Capital City Lisbon (2.6 million)
  • Languages Portuguese (official)
  • Latitude/Longitude 39° 30N, 8°W
  • Official Currency: the Euro
  • Population 10,366,000
  • Religions Catholic, others
  • Land Area 91,950 sq km (35,502 sq miles)
  • Landforms Mountains and high hills cover the northern third of Portugal, including an extension of the Cantabrian Mountains from Spain.

The mainland’s highest point is a peak in the Serra da Estrela, at 6,532 ft. (1,991m). Note: Portugal’s overall highest point (Pico Volcano ) is located in the Azores (an autonomous region) on the island of Pico. It stands at 7,713 ft. (2,351m).

Further south and west, the land slopes to rolling hills and lowlands, and a broad coastal plain.

Major rivers include the Douro, Guadiana and the Tagus. There are no inland lakes.

arrow Land Divisions 18 districts, including: Aveiro, Beja, Braga, Braganca, Castelo Branco, Coimbra, Evora, Faro, Guarda, Leiria, Lisboa, Portalegre, Porto, Santarem, Setubal, Viana do Castelo, Vila Real and Viseu. Autonomous regions include the Azores and the Madeira islands.


Leave a Reply